Our First Tip On Data Visualization


Redbull Stratos

Infographic on Redbull Designed for Adforum 2012 by @Mr_MediaX

The most informative and underestimated part of any designers role in creating information graphics, is the critical element of research. A lot of times, people come assuming that all a creative needs to do is make the visuals look appealing and pretty. This usually is the beginning of much trouble, bad design and ineffective work.

From my level of understanding, a designer needs to probably have the highest level of understanding of all material in the brief (or research) in order to be able to conceptualize and visualize the brief. Infographics serve the purpose of informing and educating the end-user in a way in which they can process and understand the information best. Thus, in order for great design to occur, great research needs to take place. And that means hours, upon hours, upon days of good qualitative research.

It is important to understand industry specifics and to be generally informed about the industry or subject that you will be creating information about. Google needs to become your best friend. Invest in data, and keep yourself very occupied about with as much interesting and valuable information about your subject. Critically analyse and dissect your brief at a very high level and do not be scared to leave no question unturned. Choose to rather appear stupid to your client, than risk delivering work that is inferior and generally a disservice to your portfolio. Visually, look at how other designers have approached the topic or subjects in your given brief. So for example, if you’re doing an infographics on Social Media, have a look at how designers around the world have tackled Social Media infographics on sites like Behance.net  See what is put there, get inspired and learn what the latest design trends are in the infographics field. (But of course do not limit yourself to just that kind of visual research). When that is done, hopefully you can find a way to define your own style by learning from others.

To end off though, I personally find this part of the job the most fun. This is where you are guaranteed to learn something new all in the name of inspiration. It’s also the most important phase of teaching yourself to understand the work you are dealing with.

Please follow us @StarvingCreativ or follow @Mr_MediaX

Checkout the full infographic we made at Ornico Media that was published on Media site http://www.redzone.co.za below or view on the link here

Adforum_FMCG_Infographic

60 responses to “Our First Tip On Data Visualization

  1. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i am glad to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I such a lot for sure will make certain to do not put out of your mind this website and provides it a look on a constant basis. Jenette Stoecker http://www.mrycyn.edu.pl/firmy/wc,brzeziny,kabiny,wc,lodz,s,4082/

  2. Admiring the commitment you put into your site and detailed information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help stop content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  4. I am not positive where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend a while studying more or figuring out more. Thanks for great information I used to be in search of this info for my mission.

  5. I just want to tell you that I am very new to blogging and seriously savored this web site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You surely come with terrific writings. Thanks a bunch for revealing your website page.

  6. Thanks a lot for giving everyone an extraordinarily pleasant possiblity to read critical reviews from this website. It really is very cool and also full of a lot of fun for me personally and my office fellow workers to search your blog at a minimum three times in a week to study the fresh guides you have. And indeed, I’m also usually contented considering the good concepts you give. Selected 3 tips in this article are in truth the most suitable we have all had. Katelin Hausrath http://www.trafniej.com.pl/zdrowie,i,uroda/seksuologiczny,gabinet,lekarski,terapia,par,warszawa,s,5669/

  7. Identify i’ll continue with the following write-up, I do believe this original web site requirements added consideration. I’ll more inclined end up being again to read added, thank you for that facts.

  8. Pingback: carmen bigss·

  9. Pingback: penis traction·

  10. hello at hand and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly chosen up anything new from decent at this point. I did however expertise some technological points using this locate, as I experienced to restock the locate a lot of times earlier to I possibly will get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m crabby, nevertheless lethargic loading instances times will every so often involve your placement in google and can harm your prohibitive characteristic score proviso ads and marketing with Adwords. Satisfactorily I am adding this RSS to my transmit and can give the impression of being outdated in support of a lot additional of your respective interesting satisfy. Guarantee that you renovate this again soon..

  11. Pingback: Marko plots·

  12. This article is actually helpful. I am able to override author’, email’ and url’ default settings, but I am not able to override comment_field’, it is getting duplicated, i.e. the default textarea is also appearing with my custom comment textarea. Any help would be appreciated.

  13. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or
    2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  14. I and my guys have been checking out the excellent tips and hints from your web site and so immediately came up with a horrible feeling I never expressed respect to you for them. Those boys appeared to be for this reason glad to read through all of them and have pretty much been making the most of these things. I appreciate you for truly being so thoughtful and then for choosing these kinds of magnificent resources most people are really desperate to understand about. Our sincere regret for not saying thanks to you sooner. kwiaty na pogrzeb http://www.eraseo.net.pl/firmy/e,kwiatynapogrzeb,wience,pogrzebowe,warszawa,s,7188/

  15. You…are…my…hero!!! I cant believe a bit like this exists by the internet! Its so veritable, hence truthful, and more than that you dont sound approximating an idiot! Conclusively, a big cheese who knows how to natter about a subject without sounding approximating a kid who didnt get that bike he wanted representing Christmas.

  16. Pingback: Google·

  17. Pingback: blue man·

  18. This means that you will need to decide on the message
    that you want to use later on. Sooner or later, it’ll become larger than what you expect since most stickers make your owngraphs and digital printed pictures are made from a biological nutrient. 0 is a worthy successor to stickers make your own Explosion Deluxe 4.

  19. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get
    three emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Bless you!

  20. Usually I don’t learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice post.

  21. Great work! This is the type of information that should be shared
    around the web. Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this post upper!
    Come on over and discuss with my site . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

