6 RANDOM QUESTIONS WITH POET AND SECURITY GUARD MTHA


One of my best moments so far this year has been the opportunity to interview the man you’re about to read about on this post. Working as a security guard at my place of residence, Mtha has been one of the most inspirational figures the Starving Creatives team has met this year. None of us are anywhere close to reaching our dreams, but meeting Mtha and interviewing him helps re-establish the notion that everybody has the right to dream. A poet and rapper at heart, I would hope his story inspires himself and everybody who judges people at face value. Starving creatives are everywhere, and we are passionate about giving them a voice. Enjoy the read and please watch his video above or click here to see it.

1.    Who are you and what do you do?

I am Mkhuthazeni Amon Ngema. Many people know me as Mtha. It’s a shortcut from my name Mkhuthazeni because people usually say it sounds long. I am a security officer at the moment. In my free time I do both poems and rap music so I believe I am a poet.

2.     Why do you do what you do?

It is inspiration I was getting from the music I was listening too when I grew up. Inspiration met the love I have for poetry and music. That’s why I’m doing it now. I love this kind of art wholeheartedly. Now I want to make it a living.

Mtha in poet mode and ready to inspire

Mtha in poet mode and ready to inspire

3.     What’s your background?

I’m from the rural areas of KwaZulu-Natal, eMsinga Tugela Ferry. When I grew up it wasn’t easy because we didn’t have basic needs (i.e: Best Education and health services). In one room we had three classes in it with three different educators teaching three different subjects… and sharing one chalkboard. It wasn’t easy. I remember in 1998 to 1999 there was a war between people from my village and the people where my school was located so I was forced to change the school. I’m just grateful that I didn’t drop out until I finished my matric in 2007.

4.     What’s integral to the work of an artist?

It changes the way people think. In other words it educates people with the message through melodies. It helps youth gather and learn to decide what’s wrong and what’s right. My music is going to be “direct to the point music” because I write raps and poetry about what’s happening around us. And music also helps us relieve stress and celebrate. We just need music.

5.     What are your favourite foods and music? Any inspiration from them?

I enjoy eating Inhloko (Skopo) and drinking the famous Coke. Listening to PRO – Fall reminds me where I come from, and the journey that I still have to take. That track encourages me a lot in terms of hard work.

Mtha in his work uniform

Mtha in his work uniform

6.     Your Dream in a paragraph?

I would like to make a great album, if possible I would like to work with many talented artists such as HHP, Tumi & The Volume, Heart Break Kid, L-Tido and maybe one or two artists from the USA. Not forgetting to mention my team that made me to believe that I can make it in music, B.I.B(Boyz In Black) that consists of two other guys Daniel aka Diggy-Dan and Lumumba aka Zigs. I can’t leave those ninjas out of my projects because it’s like “I shine, they shine”. Maybe in future I can also get a female artist to help me with a sweet voice where it’s necessary.

That’s our piece and tell them you heard it from Simphiwe Xulu aka @Mr_MediaX on Twitter.

Follow us Starving Creative or follow @Mr_MediaX

17 responses to “6 RANDOM QUESTIONS WITH POET AND SECURITY GUARD MTHA

    • Hi Mtha, I love your poem and your spirit. I am currently working on a project called the Poets’ Security Force, a network of poets who do work as security guards. We will be putting together a book of poems by security guards this summer. I’d love to include you if you are interested! Please contact me asap!

  1. This is a comment to the admin. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I have found a company which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your website: http://voxseo.com/traffic/ They offer 1,000 free visitors during their free trial period and I managed to get over 30,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  2. I simply want to say I am new to blogging and truly loved your website. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You actually have beneficial articles and reviews. Kudos for sharing with us your website page.

  3. Pingback: 6 Questions With Vocalist, Artist And Budding Philanthropist | S&X Starving Creatives·

Leave a Reply

