Ad Boy, Stop Dreaming! Start Creating!


No need to explain here. Read and enjoy

No need to explain here. Read and enjoy

Pulling out my own 2 front teeth would have been an easier and more comfortable experience in comparison to getting Thobani Khumalo to write this article. A Media Honours graduate from UKZN, Thobani drops a creative writing piece for Starving Creatives like we’ve never seen before. When he is writing scripts in Hollywood, we’ll always lay some claim to having played a part in his beautiful struggle. Enjoy the read into the fictional mind of a super fictional being who has dreams of taking the media industry by storm one day

She whispered in my ears and said “Ad Boy, don’t open your eyes”. Thinking in my subconscious that it could be the Oracle, meaning I’m in the matrix. I jumped out of my skin and entered into the television box. Everything was wrong in there. Nando’s was not called CHICKEN EVOLUTION. Others wouldn’t turn down a client because it’s all about accumulating money. “These agencies don’t have taste or human honesty when it comes to brands they want their people to consume”, she said to me. Everybody outside my matrix seemed to believe that in order to be a creative, you have to travel the world and do all sorts of crazy things. I, however, believe that the lonely, the geeks and freaks have got to be the most creative people on earth because in their discrimination they let their imagination transport them to homeland.

Visual inspiration

Visual inspiration

As an art lover, you will certainly collect a few portraits and paintings, CD’s and iPod’s there and there. Or if you like naked sculpture advertised on the papers then you would get your hands on a Khanyi Mbau. Think about this, if lip syncing can save a bad voice or if a picture is worth a thousand words, and that’s an accepted notion.  Why would they ban my Yogueta lollipop advert on TV if I used close-ups on Boitumela Thulo indulging? What’s wrong with this picture? Maybe it’s because everybody is creative, too creative sometimes. Beyonce’s Heat fragrance was banned for daytime broadcast, and all she was doing in the advert was walking and breathing.

Propaganda? Who said anything about that?

Propaganda? Who said anything about that?

They say I shouldn’t put politics in advertising. It’s dangerous! Wow, what a country. But we all love the ANC except the poor, and some of us are not even aware. Don’t believe me, huh? Look into these people’s pocket and wallets…all of them have a collection of ANC Madiba notes. Propaganda? Or a slap in the face! The number one people who can change the world are corporations working with copywriters but most people are just too scared to be audacious.

Some thruth to the statement. Things can get rather stale

Some truth to the statement. Things can get rather stale

“Where is truthful advertising? A meaningful ad. Can’t you give me a product in a manner I might find captivating and enriching to my mind and soul?” Perhaps branded entertainment is a solution to the intolerance by masses on adverts, I thought to myself as an idea to her grievances. It’s always, buy! Buy! While a cinematic approach to things would invite the audience to just watch and like. Liking entails buying inevitably.

When it was time to open my eyes and be in the real world, I thought to myself, the only way to live was to open my own business. What is wrong with me for using insane fiction to stress a point that your creativity is needed in this country, in this world? You have read thus far…be you, be bold, stop dreaming and start creating. I’m Ad Boy and I will not wait to be accepted by another circle of creatives, let them fall in my circumference. Change the game. What do you say?

The creative struggle continues. Thanks Thobani. Thats our piece and tell them you heard it from Matt “The Rat” Mkhize and @Mr_MediaX!

Follow us Starving Creative or follow @Mr_MediaX

2 responses to “Ad Boy, Stop Dreaming! Start Creating!

  1. I just want to mention I am just newbie to blogging and site-building and absolutely loved this web blog. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You really come with wonderful article content. Cheers for revealing your blog site.

  2. I just want to mention I am just very new to blogging and really loved your blog site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have wonderful articles and reviews. Bless you for revealing your web site.

Leave a Reply

