6 Questions With Zola Songo: Vocalist, Photographer And Budding Philanthropist


The beautiful young go-getter that is Zola

The beautiful young go-getter that is Zola

Zola Songo a 23 year old born and raised in a town on the south coast of KwaZulu-Natal called Port Shepstone. Zola is a photographer, undiscovered singer, a creative mind, poet, a philanthropist, an adventure seeker and down right crazy human being. She is currently in the marijuana capital of the world (Netherlands) and as she put it she’s out there ‘hustling’ and we are glad she agreed to have an interview with us. 

So you are in the Netherlands what are you doing there?

To put in simple terms well I’m hustling, lol. I’m looking after families’ children so I’m a nanny so I can pay for my studies at UNISA (Psychology) and quench my thirst for adventure. Just enjoying being young I guess the best way I can.

Its always hard to bottle down creativity. Zola is a photographer, undiscovered singer, a creative mind, poet, a philanthropist, an adventure seeker and down right crazy human being

Its always hard to bottle down creativity. Zola is a photographer, undiscovered singer, a creative mind, poet, a philanthropist, an adventure seeker and down right crazy human being

Besides singing what other art forms are you into?

Well recently got into Photography and have exhibited twice at the KZNSA gallery in Glenwood Durban. I am into recreation as well working with kids and inspiring them to use art as a form of therapy. I plan on being a drama therapist some day. I would also love to dance contemporary so its safe to say that in two weeks I will enrol for classes * jumping for joy * and I used to be a poet , not sure if that ever ends but I’m on a long break from poetry at the moment .

Zola has just released a music video on YouTube called; ‘The Moon is Missing’.   The video currently has over 1 000 views on YouTube. It’s a passionate video that really moved me, so I asked her about the song and how it all came together.

Miss Songo on how the song was made:

That music video and song were very spontaneous. Well first things first, I have never called myself a singer or musician for that matter because that’s a title I respect for people who sweat for it and work hard at it.

I met a guy in the market in Glenwood,Durban. His name was Wren and that evening I was invited to his house concert. It turned out he was in a band called the Hind brothers. A week later I was at his house again we decided to record a song I had written while going through a sore heart. I played him the song and sang it then he played the same cords just only a billion times better and smoother, lol. We recorded it on his little PA system and I left. Just before leaving for the Netherlands I came from Austria and had a week in SA before heading off to Holland for the year. Wren brought me a memory stick with the song and when I heard how he backed it up I had to say I cried. He did magical job to the vocals really and he managed to sing the “nginqande ngingakawi noduki’nhliziyo”… impressive white boy I must say. So blessed to have met him.

Miss Songo comments on the The Video:

So the day I got the song I had four days before I leaving SA, I had assignments due, I was running around at embassies and Home Affairs and trying to finish a photo essay for an exhibition. I hadn’t seen anyone to say goodbye but I called up a friend (one of my closest and dearest ), that had finished doing a month long videographer course. His name Menga Nhlabathi from Durban. I met Markus (hunk on the video) after meeting Menga and I say “we are shooting tomorrow, want to be the cute guy with the girl on the video?” He says, “hmm ok.”

G-Town_150

Music is certainly reflection of self

The next day we were all too tired to shoot, so Sunday the 17th of March was our last chance. I dreamt about running, and woke up thinking, “hmm random running seams cool.” Then later on I think of the old house I did a photo shoot in a month ago and think, “hmm that would be cool.” Then I think my Aunts dress would be amazingly random and graceful in chaos and steal it for the day. Then I think well beach scenes are always good to have so I take an outfit to change in case we do beach scene. We run three hours late but the poor German Markus is already use to African time. I tell Menga my three ideas and he is not too sold but whenever we do not agree, we say “well lets shoot and take it out if it doesn’t work.”  Menga wants the intimacy, the looking like we are in love in a bedroom mellow caresses eye contact and me singing so we all compromise and we shoot all of the ideas then sort of create a story line around what we all want. I leave and my Super hero Menga Nhlabathi delivers a month later.

What other projects are you working on?

I run an NPO called Sober Hearts Africa. I’m all about kids and teenagers in rural areas. I encourage innovative thinking and being out side of the stereo type and marginalization that we have succumbed to. There is a film project Sober Hearts that we’re working on with a young lady from Australia. That should launch next year as soon as I get home as I am working on doing photo exhibitions here in Europe of work I did in Durban before I left.

Zola on the job and living her passion as part of her Sober Hearts

Zola on the job and living her passion as part of her Sober Hearts Africa NPO

What is your message to starving artists that want to quit following their dreams to pursue the safer options

This year I started a new policy in the way I see me and the way I see others and it was do you and let me do me. People were saying you have so much potential why go be a baby sitter but they did not know my circumstances and I felt no need to explain because sometimes you have to do what works for you. So I’m an nanny, a damn good one at that cause I know that one day I won’t have to be a nanny to make money but I will become what I will be tomorrow because I am a nanny today.

In all, don’t let your circumstances run you, you run them even if you can’t change them

I remember someone saying why do u want to do this video so much or why are you so keen and I said I have been doing a lot of things I “have to “do lately and this right now is an opportunity to do what I WANT and I will own it .

That’s our piece and tell them you heard it from Mat “The Rat” Mkhize right here on Starving Creatives.

Follow us Starving Creative or follow @Mr_MediaX on Twitter. View more beautiful images of Zola below. Thank you for the opportunity Zola. The world is your playground and we’re proud to be art of your journey to doing great things

IMG_3158

_I5K0021

_I5K9966

 

9 responses to “6 Questions With Zola Songo: Vocalist, Photographer And Budding Philanthropist

  1. Totally love this sister’s state of mind and desire to good for mankind and herself. Totally inspired and motivated to do good & what works for me

Leave a Reply

