4 Questions With Jason Mqokozo: A Designer and Creative Businessman


Meet the man behind the designs

Meet the man behind the designs

Jason Mqokozo a young man from Durban south, a suburb called the Bluff crazy enough to believe he can change the world. He studied Fashion and Textile Design at the Durban University of Technology. He has also worked for various retailers and clothing suppliers as a CAD artist, designer and trainee buyer. He currently lives in JHB so he can be where things are at (as he put it). He’s the man behind ‘Seam Artist’ and our latest interview seeks to find out more about the man and the brand he represents.

 

The inspiration - Don Charvey

The inspiration – Dov Charvey

What made you decide to design and manufacture clothing?

I grew up as the kid who was always told that one day you would be an artist. I could draw, was different and basically a creative kid. I opted for clothing design as this seemed to be a more functional form of art in my eyes. In the process of my studies (Fashion Design) I realized that we as the new businessmen need to be more involved in our dying clothing and creative industry so I then decided to keep my manufacturing local. If my budget permitted me, I would also have my fabrics milled locally but maybe one day. My inspiration for what I do is Dov Charney who has made the world buy into “Made in America”. He is one of the very few American textile business men who does everything locally.

Tell me more about “SEAMARTIST”. What is the essence of the brand (what does it stand for, what makes it different)?

 ‘Seam’ “noun line where two edges join especially of cloth or boards..”

‘Artist’ “noun a person who practices any art, especially painting, sculpturing ect.”

We are a small clothing and design company operating in a living-room/office and everyday we strive to create a truly South African brand that reflects the diversity and beauty of our country – SEAMARTIST

So to be honest I don’t really have a valid reason for why you should buy our brand but so long as you buy local. We just want to offer exceptional products which excel in quality and design which will keep you buying in the end.

Some bags made and designed by The Seamartist

Some bags made and designed by The Seamartist

Why be an artist (what drives you to be in this crazy completely unpredictable industry)? Aren’t there ‘safer’ career options out there

Hahahahahahhahahahahhaa…. I doubt I am cool enough to be an artist but thanks Matthew! I see myself more as a creative businessman to be honest.

I just want to be part of those crazy f***s who are stupid enough to try and change the perceptions of how the world views South Africa (we have so much to offer the world) as is.

Can we also be known for producing exceptional products and not Aids, Poverty and Crime

What is your message to starving artists that want to quit following their dreams to pursue the safer options?

Don’t see it as an art but creative business and you product or service is art. Clean up your image and take what you do seriously. Do a business course even it is those short courses to help you understand selling, finance and how to run a business.

That’s our piece and tell them you heard it from Mat “The Rat” Mkhize right here on Starving Creatives.

Follow us Starving Creative or follow @Mr_MediaX on Twitter.

If you want to order T’s please find their details below
 
seamartistlbook12013
 
Where can I order your t-shirts?
You can place orders via email, our blog or visit one of our stockist (ozlo clothing ) :
www.seamartist.blogspot.com
seamartist@gmail.com
ozlo clothing (arts on main)
 
Or interact with them via the various platforms
 
Twitter links, Facebook links blog links etc.
http://seamartist.blogspot.com/ (seamartist on blogger)
https://twitter.com/Seamartist (seamartist on twiitter)
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Seamartist/ (seamartist on facebook,lnk my not work so
search seamartist on facebook to find our page)
7 responses to “4 Questions With Jason Mqokozo: A Designer and Creative Businessman

  1. I’ll right away consider hold of your rss feed as I cannot in finding your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  2. I simply want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogs and honestly liked this web page. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You surely have superb stories. Thank you for revealing your webpage.

  3. All of the a few of the good places to find great designs.
    It features a large variety of different tattoos
    and has now people rate what sort of tattoos look. Unlike before, designs
    may be chosen aimlessly given that they
    look great; today it’s read more about embodying the individual’s
    personality and beliefs. It has become considered applied merely to those people that
    stood a Celtic heritage of some type even when nowadays Celtic tattoos
    are finished on almost everybody. Of course often there is the between use of starting using a drawn tattoo then adding your own personal designs in it, this
    also is usually a great idea because this is a design that you simply love however with your own personal creative and flair wrapped with it.

Leave a Reply

